HAPPY LATE VALENTINE’S DAY and thank you to all those who participated in the nomination process to find The Nine – women chosen by other women as candidates for an international governing body. A chance for a new approach – since what we’ve seen so far isn’t working.

You cast your votes and here are the results: a kind of valentine to the world!

Thank you all for participating and thank you to those who nominated me (it did not seem appropriate to include these votes!). Thanks to Diana Arterian for tabulating and organizing the results. And special thanks to WOMEN’S VOICES FOR CHANGE – for the “voting site” and for the links to nominees’ bios. Thanks also to the Huffington Post.

But the nominations don’t have to stop now – “Send a Valentine/ Vote for The Nine.” Keep the idea growing – and thanks again!

The Nine:

Hillary Clinton (Secretary of State, U.S.)

Rachel Maddow (Radio Journalist, Political Commentator)

Fran Pavley (Environmentalist, Activist)

Michele Obama (First Lady, U.S.)

Madeleine Albright (Former U.S. Secretary of State)

Aung San Suu Kyi (Nobel Laureate, Activist, Myanmar)

Billie Jean King (Professional Tennis Player, Feminist)

Ruth Bader Ginsburg (Supreme Court Justice, U.S.)

Azar Nafisi (Author, Professor)

The Alternates:

Sheila Bair (U.S. Government Official)

Barbara Boxer (U.S. Senator, California)

Dr. Vandana Shiva (Physicist, Philosopher, Eco Feminist, Activist, and Author)

The Nominated:

Mary McAleese (President, Ireland)

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (President, Liberia)

Ariana Huffington (Journalist, Activist, Founder, Huffington Post)

Margaret Thatcher (Former Prime Minister, U.K.)

Victoria Donda (Argentinian Politician)

Melinda Gates (Philanthropist)

Shirin Ebadi (Activist)

Elizabeth Warren (Law Professor)

Anousheh Ansari (Business Entrepreneur)

Esther Dyson (Journalist, Philanthropist)

Adrienne Rich (Poet)

Sylvia Earle (Oceanographer)

Sandra Day O’Connor (Former Supreme Court Justice, U.S.)

Isabel Allende (Author, Activist)

Caroline Kennedy (Philanthropist, Author)

Jane Goodall (Anthropologist, Author)

Toni Morrison (Nobel Laureate, Author)

Wislawa Szymborska (Nobel Laureate, Poet)

Queen Noor (Royal, Jordan, Philanthropist)

Sonia Sotomayor (Supreme Court Justice, U.S.)

Kathleen Sebelius (U.S. Government Official)

Maria Shriver (First Lady, California, Author)

Mary Robinson (Former President, Ireland)

Gloria Steinem (Journalist, Activist)

Nadine Strossen (Lawyer, Former President of the ACLU)

Amy Lehman (Doctor, Activist)

Karen Armstrong (Author)

Edwidge Danticat (Author, MacArthur Fellow, Haitian)

Oprah Winfrey (Television Talk Show Host, Philanthropist)

Eve Ensler (Author, V-Day Founder)

Marsha Moss (Public Art Curator)

Maxine Singer (Biochemist, Former President, Carnegie Institute)

Martha Coakley (Attorney General, Massachusetts)

Patricia Strachen (Editor)

Medha Patkar (Social Activist)

Hu Shuli (Journalist)

Esther Dyson (Journalist, Philanthropist)

Margaret Wheatley (President of the Berkana Institute)

Vicki Flaugher (Entrepreneur)

Dr. Jane Lubchenco (Sec. of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and NOAA Admin.)

Reverend Alexia Salvatierra (Exec. Dir. of Clergy & Laity United for Economic Justice of California)

Dr. Holmes Hummel (Dept of Energy)

Alisa Gravitz  (Founder of Green America)

Sheila Kuehl (Former U.S. Senator and Assemblywoman)

Constance “Connie” Rice (Civil Rights Activist, Lawyer)

Kavita Ramdas (Head of the Global Fund for Women)

Louise Arbour (Former UN Human Rights High Commissioner and Canadian Supreme Court Justice)

Sharon Doubiago (Poet)

Barbara Kingsolver (Author)

Naomi Wolf (Author, Feminist)

Inga Muscio (Feminist)

Meghan O’Rourke (Poet, Columnist)

Valerie Jarrett (U.S. Government official)

Lady Gaga (Musician)

Dr. Pat Allen (Physician, publisher of Women’s Voices for Change.org)

Start the conversation

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.